First published with Fabula Argentea.

My boyfriend laughs when I tell him that Minnie, my car, is my best friend. I try to explain to him that she’s been dependable and trustworthy for years. He’s new. Besides, she and I’ve circled the globe together six and a half times. Her odometer says so.

Today Minnie goes in for a check-up, a harrowing experience, but not because of anything she’s done. It’s the host of characters I’ll be forced to encounter at the dealership to successfully complete this gauntlet of hot coals.

First, I spot a perky receptionist perched in the middle of a room where other folks, whose faces reflect the possibility they’ll soon be paged to board a bus to Siberia, are milling around. Because of the nifty telephone wand wrapped across her cheek…

Read the rest Minnie’s Demise.